The 10 smallest states by landmass in Nigeria

The 10 smallest states by landmass in Nigeria

There are 36 states in Nigeria and these states share a total land mass of 923,768 square kilometers. Each state has a different landmass with some having a large part and some having fewer portions. In this post, we are going to be mentioning the 10 smallest states in Nigeria in terms of landmass. Number one will definitely come as a surprise. Enjoy.

Read also: largest states in Nigeria by population

Lagos State

Who would have thought that Lagos state will be the smallest state with a population of more than 15 million people? Not me. According to sources, the Lagos state is 22 times smaller than Niger state. Mostly referred to as small London, Lagos used to be the capital of Nigeria. It occupies a land mass of 3,577 km².

Anambra State

Anambra is the 8th most populous state and the second smallest in terms of the landmass in Nigeria. Nnewi, Onitsha, and Awka are three major cities in Nigeria. Also, the name of the state was derived from “OmaMbala”, which is the local name Anambra River. Finally, It occupies a land mass of 4,844 km.

Imo State

Imo state is filled with a lot of tourist centers and It is located in the South Eastern part of Nigeria and its capital is Owerri. Imo state covers a total land mass area of 5,230 km².

Ebonyi State

Also located in the southeastern part of the country, Ebonyi state is one of the smallest states in the country. The state is one of the leading producers of agricultural products like rice, yam, potatoes, maize, beans, and cassava in Nigeria. Lastly, the state has a land mass of 5,533 km².

Abia State

To begin with, Abia State used to be part of Imo state before it was later separated. It is the leading producer of textile and palm oil in Nigeria. The state is well known for its commercial city, Abia which is highly involved in business activities. It covers a land mass of 6,320 km².

Read Also: Nigerian states their capitals and slogans

Ekiti State

Another small state located in the South Western part of the country is Ekiti is a state. Ekiti state didn’t exist until 1996, thanks to the administration of General Sani Abacha. Ekiti state covers a land mass of 6,353 km².

Akwa Ibom State

Akwa Ibom, the “land of promise” has a lot of very attractive landscape and a multibillion-dollar ultra-modern stadium. In short, it is best you visit the state during the festive period because that is when the entertainment centers come alive. Akwa Ibom State has a land mass of 7,081 km².

Enugu State

Enugu, the Coal City state was created from Anambra state on August 27, 1991. In brief, the city is filled with tourism centers. The state has a land mass of 7,161 km².

Osun State

Osun state is the 9th smallest state in Nigeria with a landmass of 9,251 km². It is bordered in the north and south by Kwara state and Ogun state.

Rivers State

This state is not only famous for its high standard of living but also for its aqua life and waterfronts. It is nicknamed the garden city and it is one of the richest regions in Nigeria. It occupies a land mass of 11,077 km².

Author: BF

light sleeper, heavy dreamer.

Let us know what you think