The 10 oldest Universities in Nigeria

university school nigeria public institution education

Generally, the first university was established before the country gained its independence. Since then, there has been an increase in the number of universities in Nigeria. In fact, there are about 143 universities in Nigeria. Each of them is either classified as private Universities, state Universities, or government-owned universities. These institutions are spread across the country with the hope of providing a conducive learning environment. In this post, we are going to be looking at the 10 oldest universities in Nigeria along with their date of establishment.

University of Ibadan (1948)

University of Ibadan was formerly known as Yaba Higher College and was established in 1932 in Lagos state. Fast forward to 1948, the college staffs were transferred to start the University of Ibadan as an external college of the University of London. Ever since then, the university has grown in size and popularity with various achievements under its name.

University of Nigeria, Nsukka (1960)

It is a federal University and it is in Nsukka, Enugu state. It was founded in 1955 but opened formally in October 1960. Popularly known as UNN, University of Nigeria, Nsukka was the first full-fledged indigenous and first autonomous university in Nigeria.

Obafemi Awolowo University (1961)

This institution was established in 1961 but admission and training commenced in 1962. It is in the old city of Osun state, Ile Ife. The institution was formerly called the University of Ife and it was managed by the regional government of western Nigeria. The named was changed to Obafemi Awolowo University on the 2nd of May 1987.

Ahmadu Bello University (1962)

Ahmadu Bello University is the most popular University in the northern part of Nigeria. Popularly known as ABU, the school was established in 1962 in Zaria, a city in Kaduna state. At first, it was called the University of Northern Nigeria and it currently has two campuses. One of them is in Samaru while the other one can be found in Kango in Zaria.

University of Lagos 1962

Unilag was founded in 1962 and since then it has provided quality education for Nigerians. It is popularly known as University of first choice, it is one of the most sought after universities in Nigeria.

University of Benin (1970)

The university was founded in 1970 and it is located in Edo state. The school is owned by the federal government and it currently has up to 40000 students.

University of Maiduguri (1975)

The University of Maiduguri was created in 1975 by the federal government. It is located in the Borno State in Nigeria and now boasts over 34,000 students from around the world. Her current VC is Professor M. M. Daura. It was part of the Third Development Plan which stressed the creation of more universities in the country.

University of Calabar (1975)

The University of Calabar is one of Nigeria’s second generation universities and it is located in Calabar city, the capital of Cross River state. At first, the university used to be a campus of the University of Nigeria until 1975. Also, The University of Calabar was one of the foremost Nigerian Universities to automate students’ registration processes through the College Portal.

University of Jos (1975)

The University of Jos used to be the satellite campus of the University of Ibadan in 1972. Afterward, it was established as a separate institution by General Murtala Mohammed in October 1975. Lastly, UniJos currently has about 30,000 students being led by Prof. Hayward B. Mafuyai as the current Vice-chancellor.

University of Ilorin (1975)

Unilorin was established in 1975 to the decree of the Federal Military Government. It is controlled by the federal government and it is located in Ilorin, Kwara state capital. The institution has a landmass of about 15000 hectares and has over 15 faculties.

Author: BF

light sleeper, heavy dreamer.

Let us know what you think